Northern Soul

Authors & Reviews

Darkness at Noon by Arthur Koestler

Book Review: Darkness at Noon by Arthur Koestler

August 1, 2017 Comments Off on Book Review: Darkness at Noon by Arthur Koestler

This year marks the centenary of the Russian Revolution. In the third of a series of articles for Northern Soul, Alfred Searls explores how 1917 – and the Soviet society which developed in its shadow – has been portrayed by writers since that momentous year of revolution.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Book Review: The White Guard by Mikhail Bulgakov

July 9, 2017 Comments Off on Book Review: The White Guard by Mikhail Bulgakov

This year marks the centenary of the Russian Revolution. In the second of a series of articles for Northern Soul, Alfred Searls explores how 1917 – and the Soviet society which developed in its shadow – has been portrayed by writers since that momentous year of revolution.

Share Button
Read the full story..

John Hegley

Northern Soul chats to John Hegley about poeting, the Peel Sessions and performance

July 3, 2017 Comments Off on Northern Soul chats to John Hegley about poeting, the Peel Sessions and performance

Upon commencing an interview with beloved poet and performer John Hegley, Northern Soul apologises profusely for being a couple of minutes late.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Arundhati Roy credit Mayank Austen Soofi

Review: Arundhati Roy, Royal Northern College of Music, Manchester

June 19, 2017 Comments Off on Review: Arundhati Roy, Royal Northern College of Music, Manchester

As an undergraduate at Manchester Metropolitan University (many moons ago) I opted for the intriguingly titled Modern Gothic module. It was here that I stumbled across 1997 Booker Prize-winning The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy, the story of twins Rahel and Estha growing up in the politically turbulent state of Kerala in the 1960s.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Jenn Ashworth, Dead Ink Books

The Night Visitors: horror fiction, obsession and catfishing

May 19, 2017 Comments Off on The Night Visitors: horror fiction, obsession and catfishing

I can’t watch horror films. Not since my teenage years when we used to watch VHS copies of Scream and IT and I’d have to walk a mile home through the darkening countryside, imagining that each sound contained my grisly demise.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Laura Wilkinson

Northern Soul talks to author Laura Wilkinson about Hulme, modern art and how beauty is more than Skin Deep

May 17, 2017 Comments Off on Northern Soul talks to author Laura Wilkinson about Hulme, modern art and how beauty is more than Skin Deep

I’m fascinated by ideals of beauty. Just scroll through Instagram and you’ll find people air-brushed to within an inch of their life.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Ascent by Jed Mercurio

Book review: Ascent by Jed Mercurio

April 21, 2017 Comments Off on Book review: Ascent by Jed Mercurio

Now and again you come across a novel so closely published to your own specifications that you strongly suspect the publishers have secretly focus-grouped you to within an inch of your life, and then wiped all memory of it from your mind.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Not From Around There: finding a place in historical fiction

April 19, 2017 Comments Off on Not From Around There: finding a place in historical fiction

My debut novel, The Witchfinder’s Sister, is set in Essex. Which, it’s fair to say, is not The North.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Red Star Over Russia

Review: Red Star Over Russia by David King

April 17, 2017 Comments Off on Review: Red Star Over Russia by David King

This year marks the centenary of the Russian Revolution. In the first of a new series of articles for Northern Soul, Alfred Searls explores how 1917 – and the Soviet society which developed in its shadow – has been portrayed by writers since that momentous year of revolution. 

Share Button
Read the full story..

The book that changed my life: Farenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

March 24, 2017 Comments Off on The book that changed my life: Farenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

Ray Bradbury’s landmark 1953 dystopian novel Fahrenheit 451 is not a book about censorship.

Share Button
Read the full story..