Northern Soul

Authors & Reviews

Shocked Earth

Book Review: Shocked Earth by Saskia Goldschmidt, translated by Antoinette Fawcett

June 16, 2021 No Comments

The global outbreak of COVID-19 has affected every part of human lives, including the physical world. As we now navigate a post-pandemic era, it’s become even clearer that how we treat the natural world around us is paramount to its – and our own – survival.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Jason Wood Photo Credit: Rebecca Lupton

“People don’t want to hear me, they want to hear the filmmaker.” Jason Wood talks about The Faber Book of Mexican Cinema

June 10, 2021 Comments Off on “People don’t want to hear me, they want to hear the filmmaker.” Jason Wood talks about The Faber Book of Mexican Cinema

Back in the early 2000s, Mexican cinema was riding a wave with films such as Amores Perros and Y tu mamá también impressing audiences and critics alike.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Graham Duff by Xavier Itter

“It was an absolute buzz.” Graham Duff talks about collaborating with Mark E Smith on horror script The Otherwise

June 8, 2021 Comments Off on “It was an absolute buzz.” Graham Duff talks about collaborating with Mark E Smith on horror script The Otherwise

“Course it is, where do you think I get this golden glow from, Ready Brek?”.

Share Button
Read the full story..

A Stinging Delight

Book Review: A Stinging Delight – A Memoir by David Storey

June 6, 2021 Comments Off on Book Review: A Stinging Delight – A Memoir by David Storey

Throughout his memoir, A Stinging Delight, David Storey wrangles with a sense of loss that was hardwired into him before he was born.

Share Button
Read the full story..

The Sleep Book

Book Review: The Sleep Book – Helping Busy Brains Settle for Sleep by Aislinn Marek

June 1, 2021 Comments Off on Book Review: The Sleep Book – Helping Busy Brains Settle for Sleep by Aislinn Marek

There are certain points in life where things happen with almost perfect timing.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Lost, Found, Remembered by Lyra McKee

Book Review: Lost, Found, Remembered by Lyra McKee

June 1, 2021 Comments Off on Book Review: Lost, Found, Remembered by Lyra McKee

We tend not to grasp that the UK endured a bloody civil war between 1969 and 1998.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Klara and the Sun

Book Review: Klara and the Sun by Kazuo Ishiguro

May 17, 2021 Comments Off on Book Review: Klara and the Sun by Kazuo Ishiguro

What would happen if our ‘what-goes-on-behind-closed-doors’ was witnessed?

Share Button
Read the full story..

I Belong Here, Anita Sethi

Book Review: I Belong Here by Anita Sethi

May 2, 2021 Comments Off on Book Review: I Belong Here by Anita Sethi

In early summer 2019, Anita Sethi was sitting in a packed carriage on the TransPennine Express train from Liverpool to Newcastle when she was racially abused by a man who, among other abhorrent things, told her to “go back to where you are from”.

Share Button
Read the full story..

This is How we come back stronger

Book Review: This Is How We Come Back Stronger – Feminist Writers on Turning Crisis into Change

April 20, 2021 Comments Off on Book Review: This Is How We Come Back Stronger – Feminist Writers on Turning Crisis into Change

Women across the world are bearing the brunt of the COVID-19 crisis.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Excavate!

Book Review: Excavate! The Wonderful and Frightening World of The Fall

April 1, 2021 Comments Off on Book Review: Excavate! The Wonderful and Frightening World of The Fall

In the preface to this new Faber compendium of essays about The Fall, co-editors Tessa Norton and Bob Stanley declare that ‘this book is not about a rock band’. They say: ‘This is not even about Mark E Smith. The book is for Mark E Smith more than it is about him.”

Share Button
Read the full story..