Northern Soul

Authors & Reviews

Bess, Rose Thomas

Book Review – Bess: Now That I Have Found the Words by Rose Thomas

February 3, 2019 Comments Off on Book Review – Bess: Now That I Have Found the Words by Rose Thomas

There’s something about train journeys that make me daydream.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Northern Soul’s Best Reads of 2018

December 24, 2018 Comments Off on Northern Soul’s Best Reads of 2018

We hoped that 2018 would be an improvement on a turbulent 2016 and an inexplicable 2017. But this year proved that [rubbish] things come in threes. Nevertheless, it wasn’t all doom and gloom. In fact, 2018 was an incredible year for bookworms and writers alike.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Where the Road Runs Out, Gaia Holmes

Poetry Review: Where the Road Runs Out by Gaia Holmes

December 13, 2018 Comments Off on Poetry Review: Where the Road Runs Out by Gaia Holmes

Gaia Holmes is an expert in her field, and this is obvious in her skilled, careful and beautifully strange poetry collection.

Share Button
Read the full story..

A Version of the Truth

Book Review: A Version of the Truth by B.P. Walter

November 25, 2018 Comments Off on Book Review: A Version of the Truth by B.P. Walter

Appearances can be deceptive.

Share Button
Read the full story..

These Northern Types

Book Review: These Northern Types, edited by Oli Bentley

November 23, 2018 Comments Off on Book Review: These Northern Types, edited by Oli Bentley

Ambitious in the best sense of the word, These Northern Types is nothing less than a frequently discursive disquisition on the nature of Northernness as unapologetically contrary as the North itself.

Share Button
Read the full story..

The North by Liz Foster Design

The Northern Soul Poem: What I Mean When I Say I’m a Northerner

November 17, 2018 Comments Off on The Northern Soul Poem: What I Mean When I Say I’m a Northerner

Northernness isn’t easy to define. It’s intrinsic, bone-deep.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Lubecki Family: Monika, Agata and Wieslaw in their home of 4 years in Edinburgh

Invisible Britain: Portraits of Hope and Resilience

October 27, 2018 Comments Off on Invisible Britain: Portraits of Hope and Resilience

Invisible Britain: Portraits of Hope and Resilience is a book of stories that are rarely heard.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Nothing is Meant to be Broken by Mark Connors and Northern Lights by Harry Gallagher

Poetry Review: Nothing is Meant to be Broken by Mark Connors; Northern Lights by Harry Gallagher

October 27, 2018 Comments Off on Poetry Review: Nothing is Meant to be Broken by Mark Connors; Northern Lights by Harry Gallagher

If you’ve ever been to the city of York, you’ll no doubt have fallen in love with it, if not with the hen and stag nights.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Slip of a Fish, Amy Arnold

Book Review: Slip of a Fish by Amy Arnold

October 27, 2018 Comments Off on Book Review: Slip of a Fish by Amy Arnold

Have you ever read a book that left you astounded?

Share Button
Read the full story..

Enigma Variations, Andre Aciman

Review: Andre Aciman, Manchester Literature Festival

October 26, 2018 Comments Off on Review: Andre Aciman, Manchester Literature Festival

I read chapters from Olivia Laing’s The Lonely City in the bath.

Share Button
Read the full story..