Northern Soul

Authors & Reviews

Water Shall Refuse Them

Book Review: Water Shall Refuse Them by Lucie McKnight Hardy

April 17, 2019 No Comments
I’m a wimp. As the first to dive behind a cushion when a scary bit comes on the telly (I’ve been an embarrassment to my family ever since the Jurassic Park incident of 1993), I point-blank refuse to watch anything that can be filed under ‘horror’. But, strangely, I love me a spooky read. From Daphne du Maurier’s Don’t Look Now and Shirley Jackson’s We Have Always Lived in the Castle to Han Kang’s The Vegetarian and Jenn Ashworth’s Cold Light, I’m drawn to frightening tales penned by women and often with female characters at their core.
Share Button
Read the full story..

Book Review: Alan Turing’s Manchester by Jonathan Swinton

April 4, 2019 Comments Off on Book Review: Alan Turing’s Manchester by Jonathan Swinton

On the face of it, Manchester’s claims to Alan Turing are slender.

Share Button
Read the full story..

“Good story, good rhymes, bit scary, great pictures.” Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler talk to Northern Soul

March 27, 2019 Comments Off on “Good story, good rhymes, bit scary, great pictures.” Julia Donaldson and Axel Scheffler talk to Northern Soul

Axel Scheffler, one might argue, is getting desperate.

Share Button
Read the full story..

On The Come Up, Angie Thomas

Book Review: On The Come Up by Angie Thomas

March 23, 2019 Comments Off on Book Review: On The Come Up by Angie Thomas

When I first saw Young Adult author Angie Thomas at Waterstones, I cried.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Book Review: An Otley Run – A Verse Novella by Joe Williams

March 15, 2019 Comments Off on Book Review: An Otley Run – A Verse Novella by Joe Williams

There are a number of (in)famous pub crawls to be enjoyed around our beautiful island.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Peach

Book Review: Peach by Wayne Barton

March 15, 2019 Comments Off on Book Review: Peach by Wayne Barton

Typically, Fanny Price is the least well-loved of Austen’s heroines.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Henry Normal The Department of Lost Wishes

Poetry Review: The Department of Lost Wishes by Henry Normal; I Can Draw My Alphabet by Tony Walsh and Paul Neads

March 15, 2019 Comments Off on Poetry Review: The Department of Lost Wishes by Henry Normal; I Can Draw My Alphabet by Tony Walsh and Paul Neads

Word of warning: do not read Henry Normal‘s new poetry collection on the bus, even if you’ve been waiting a whole damn hour.

Share Button
Read the full story..

The Sisterhood

Book Review: The Sisterhood – A Love Letter to the Women Who Have Shaped Me by Daisy Buchanan

March 4, 2019 Comments Off on Book Review: The Sisterhood – A Love Letter to the Women Who Have Shaped Me by Daisy Buchanan

I don’t have sisters. I’m the youngest of two children and, much to my dismay (and eternal torture), the only girl in my family.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Julie Hesmondhalgh: A Working Diary

Book Review: Julie Hesmondhalgh – A Working Diary

February 24, 2019 Comments Off on Book Review: Julie Hesmondhalgh – A Working Diary

Have you ever read a book and thought, ‘wow, this came at exactly the right time?’

Share Button
Read the full story..

Bess, Rose Thomas

Book Review – Bess: Now That I Have Found the Words by Rose Thomas

February 3, 2019 Comments Off on Book Review – Bess: Now That I Have Found the Words by Rose Thomas

There’s something about train journeys that make me daydream.

Share Button
Read the full story..