Northern Soul

Authors & Reviews

Couples by Michael Stewart

Poetry Review: Couples by Michael Stewart

May 26, 2020 No Comments

Originally published by Valley Press on Valentine’s Day in 2013, Couples, by acclaimed poet and novelist Michael Stewart, has been given a 2020 makeover with 12 new poems and a re-working of the original pieces.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Natasha Rea

“I am not the same girl who started this book.” Actress Natasha Rea talks about Me, Myself and Bipolar Brenda

May 4, 2020 Comments Off on “I am not the same girl who started this book.” Actress Natasha Rea talks about Me, Myself and Bipolar Brenda

We’re living in uncertain times. Our lives are hugely altered, we’re existing in isolation, unsure about the future and our collective unease is palatable.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Chris Nickson

“The place is in my soul.” Crime author Chris Nickson talks to Northern Soul

April 10, 2020 Comments Off on “The place is in my soul.” Crime author Chris Nickson talks to Northern Soul

Thankfully, there does seem to be one vital element of life that this blasted COVID-19 can’t completely disrupt and that’s books and all things bookish.

Share Button
Read the full story..

bookshelf

Books: Best Northern Reads (Part Two)

April 9, 2020 Comments Off on Books: Best Northern Reads (Part Two)

Where would we be right now without books? For all my enthusiasm to gobble up the latest series of Brooklyn Nine-Nine or bingewatch The Tiger King (if you haven’t given into the hype, then do so immediately), the only thing that quells my internal anxiety and settles my soul is reading. There’s something reassuring about the weight of a book in my hands and the steady back-and-forth of lines on the page. When we’re feeling clipped and stifled, books allow us to fly.

Share Button
Read the full story..

bookshelf

Books: Best Northern Reads (Part One)

April 7, 2020 Comments Off on Books: Best Northern Reads (Part One)

Where would we be right now without books? For all my enthusiasm to gobble up the latest series of Brooklyn Nine-Nine or bingewatch The Tiger King (if you haven’t given into the hype, then do so immediately), the only thing that quells my internal anxiety and settles my soul is reading. There’s something reassuring about the weight of a book in my hands and the steady back-and-forth of lines on the page. When we’re feeling clipped and stifled, books allow us to fly.

Share Button
Read the full story..

sarahjasmonauthorphoto

Book launch (digital): You Never Told Me by Sarah Jasmon

March 24, 2020 Comments Off on Book launch (digital): You Never Told Me by Sarah Jasmon

Social media gets a bad rap.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Weather, Jenny Offill

Book review: Weather by Jenny Offill

March 20, 2020 Comments Off on Book review: Weather by Jenny Offill

We’re living in uncertain times.

Share Button
Read the full story..

The Anatomical Venus

Poetry Review: The Anatomical Venus by Helen Ivory

March 7, 2020 Comments Off on Poetry Review: The Anatomical Venus by Helen Ivory

In The Anatomical Venus, Helen Ivory investigates how women have been treated and portrayed throughout history, from witches and parlour maids to the murdered and mutilated on our TV and cinema screens.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Dogs in Cars_Case

Book Review: The Silence of Dogs in Cars by Martin Usborne

March 7, 2020 Comments Off on Book Review: The Silence of Dogs in Cars by Martin Usborne

I am a dog fanatic.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Feathertide by Beth Cartwright

Book Review: Feathertide by Beth Cartwright

March 5, 2020 Comments Off on Book Review: Feathertide by Beth Cartwright

The outside world is starting to feel increasingly like the beginning of a dystopian movie, what with the threat of a Coronavirus epidemic causing people to panic buy loo roll and don plastic boxes and carrier bags as makeshift hazmat masks.

Share Button
Read the full story..