Northern Soul

Authors & Reviews

Why Karen Carpenter Matters by Karen Tongson

Book Review: Why Karen Carpenter Matters by Karen Tongson

November 22, 2021 No Comments

I always thought that there was something of the goth about Karen Carpenter.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Daring to Hope - A Memoir of the 1970’s by Sheila Rowbotham

Book Review: Daring to Hope – A Memoir of the 1970s by Sheila Rowbotham

November 16, 2021 Comments Off on Book Review: Daring to Hope – A Memoir of the 1970s by Sheila Rowbotham

Three weeks ago, I became a grandmother to little girl called Emerald Green. I keep saying it’s wonderful but, truthfully, I’ve been unnerved by her.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Adam Farrer

“Oh, god! I’ve won an award.” Adam Farrer, winner of the NorthBound Book Award 2021 

November 7, 2021 Comments Off on “Oh, god! I’ve won an award.” Adam Farrer, winner of the NorthBound Book Award 2021 

During the writing of my memoir, the question I most often asked myself was “how dare I?”

Share Button
Read the full story..

The Joy of Small Things

Book Review: The Joy of Small Things by Hannah Jane Parkinson

November 7, 2021 Comments Off on Book Review: The Joy of Small Things by Hannah Jane Parkinson

Joy feels like it’s been in short supply these past 18 months. What with a global health crisis, food shortages, and the whole world literally and metaphorically being on fire, now more than ever we could all do with a big dose of happiness.

Share Button
Read the full story..

The House with Two Letter-Boxes by Janet H. Swinney

Book Review: The House with Two Letter-Boxes by Janet H. Swinney

November 4, 2021 Comments Off on Book Review: The House with Two Letter-Boxes by Janet H. Swinney

It’s easy to forget how relentlessly the years rack up, especially in the apparent pause of the past 20 months, leaving the shared certainties of what once seemed like the height of modernity to recede with deceptive speed until they finally appear, in the safety of hindsight, as at once quaint and faintly barbaric.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Northern Soul books

Book Club: Northern Soul’s Right Good Reads

October 22, 2021 Comments Off on Book Club: Northern Soul’s Right Good Reads

At Northern Soul, we can often be found with our nose buried in a book. As a team, we are notorious bookworms and are passionate about championing all things literary. 

Share Button
Read the full story..

Winnie-the-Pooh - Once There Was a Bear (The Official 95th Anniversary Prequel)

Book Review: Winnie-the-Pooh – Once There Was a Bear (The Official 95th Anniversary Prequel) by Jane Riordan

October 12, 2021 Comments Off on Book Review: Winnie-the-Pooh – Once There Was a Bear (The Official 95th Anniversary Prequel) by Jane Riordan

As I write this from my bed, there’s a Winnie-the-Pooh stuffed toy sitting next to me.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Ian Duhig c. Paul Maddern

“Poetry enriches lives.” Ian Duhig, Ilkley Literature Festival 2021 Poet in Residence

October 1, 2021 Comments Off on “Poetry enriches lives.” Ian Duhig, Ilkley Literature Festival 2021 Poet in Residence

Ian Duhig grew up with poetry.

Share Button
Read the full story..

And Away...by Bob Mortimer

Book Review: And Away…by Bob Mortimer

September 29, 2021 Comments Off on Book Review: And Away…by Bob Mortimer

“Who’s the best, Vic or Bob?”

Share Button
Read the full story..

Henry Normal, Manchester Central Library

Why I bloody love libraries: Henry Normal writes for Northern Soul

September 29, 2021 Comments Off on Why I bloody love libraries: Henry Normal writes for Northern Soul

My favourite place in Manchester is the Central Library.

Share Button
Read the full story..