Northern Soul

Authors & Reviews

Northerners: A History, from the Ice Age to the Present Day

April 30, 2022 Comments Off on Northerners: A History, from the Ice Age to the Present Day

We all know that Northern England, home to the Industrial Revolution, has been a land of great engineers. Does that mean it must be second rank when it comes to poets, musicians and artists?

Share Button
Read the full story..

Book Review: Deceit by Yuri Felsen, translated by Bryan Karetnyk

April 26, 2022 Comments Off on Book Review: Deceit by Yuri Felsen, translated by Bryan Karetnyk

Potentially, at least, the author is a time traveller, and the novel their time machine, one which – Tardis-like – contains the whole of their fixed point in history while being simultaneously their means of stepping outside of it and into the future.

Share Button
Read the full story..

100 Voices

Book Review: 100 Voices edited by Miranda Roszkowski

April 21, 2022 Comments Off on Book Review: 100 Voices edited by Miranda Roszkowski

Like many women I know, there have been times when I have struggled to voice my achievements. Perhaps this is because they haven’t seemed big enough or the right sort of accomplishment.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Unexhausted Time by Emily Berry

Poetry Review: Unexhausted Time by Emily Berry

March 23, 2022 Comments Off on Poetry Review: Unexhausted Time by Emily Berry

While reading Emily Berry’s new poetry collection Unexhausted Time, I am reminded of those moments when a less than lucid mind sparks fresh perspectives on intrusive thoughts. The dark and pungent soil of experience is raked over in this book.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Dream Girl - Laura Lippman

Book Review: Dream Girl by Laura Lippman

March 23, 2022 Comments Off on Book Review: Dream Girl by Laura Lippman

It is hardly unusual these days to find that the protagonist of a widely admired paperback is a writer.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Bosh! on a Budget

Book Review: Bosh! on a Budget

February 16, 2022 Comments Off on Book Review: Bosh! on a Budget

Bosh! on a Budget. Its promise is affordable plant-based recipes at roughly £1-£2 per person. Convenience isn’t cheap and neither is eating animals. We all know that by now, right?

Share Button
Read the full story..

Sally J. Morgan. Image credit: Jessica Chubb Jan 2022

“It was a story I needed to tell.” Portico Prize-winning author Sally J Morgan on gender inequality, friendship and the North

February 9, 2022 Comments Off on “It was a story I needed to tell.” Portico Prize-winning author Sally J Morgan on gender inequality, friendship and the North

A staple of Manchester’s cultural and literary life, The Portico Library is situated above The Bank pub on Mosley Street. The 19th century library houses more than 25,000 books and is filled with archives covering 450 years. While The Portico is a subscription library, it works with diverse communities in the region to create events, exhibitions and learning programmes. It is also the home of The Portico Prize, established in 1985, a biennial award which accepts submissions across all literary formats and gives £10,000 to an overall winner.

Share Button
Read the full story..

The Reactor

Book Review: The Reactor by Nick Blackburn

February 1, 2022 Comments Off on Book Review: The Reactor by Nick Blackburn

Reading is my way of making sense of the world around me.

Share Button
Read the full story..

Nick Blackburn. credit: Christa Holka

Into the Zone: Nick Blackburn writes about his debut memoir, The Reactor

January 25, 2022 Comments Off on Into the Zone: Nick Blackburn writes about his debut memoir, The Reactor

Last year, I used to come home to the North. This year I’m working in London mostly, and I miss it.

Share Button
Read the full story..

The Stasi Poetry Circle

Book Review: The Stasi Poetry Circle by Philip Oltermann

January 25, 2022 Comments Off on Book Review: The Stasi Poetry Circle by Philip Oltermann

If the past is, in L.P. Hartley’s endlessly quoted observation, a foreign country, then how much more disorientating must it be to attempt to find one’s bearings doubly lost, adrift both in the past and a foreign country?

Share Button
Read the full story..